Baby’s first Easter was eventful, gratifying, and lots of fun.  It was the first time I felt the need to do more than just be a part of the Easter celebration, it allowed me to open my heart up to Easter baskets and candy and fake grass and dress kiddo up in his first Easter outfit; and it was all magical.  Being daddy gave me incentive to initiate celebration rather than just sit back and watch it happen.

What I learned today about being a father:

Too many times I found myself on the sidelines watching things happen around me.  Today was the first “event” that my young son experienced, and I found myself being immersed in the entire process.  I thought about what I went through as child and how I’ve ignored it all up until this point because I had no one to celebrate it for.  My parents and in-laws continue to do things for their kids, like put out Easter baskets and hang up Christmas stockings, and until today I always thought it was foolish.  I thought that the kid stage had passed and that as an adult they could skip the hubbub that surrounds events and just try to enjoy each others’ company, what I learned today about being daddy proved otherwise.

Buying my son’s first Easter basket and filling it with all the unnecessary Easter stuff made me feel like I was being in the moment and taking advantage of the few moments that we actually get to enjoy until kids are adults and think these moments are silly and childish.  And now I know why our parents still treat us kids even as we become adults, because it’s what they do.

What I think I know:

We’ve had a rough road that has been filled with memorable experiences and some of the happiest moments of my life, but what I know is from the moment mama went into contraction mode we’ve had little to no sleep.  She’s been amazing through this whole transition and I can honestly say I’ve never met anyone tougher in my life.

Everything mama has gone through has inspired me to be a better husband, better person, and better father than I think I can be even if I don’t know what being a father is all about.  With all her drive and will there was one thing mama was missing, sleep.  Today was the first time in my life I put my foot down to her resistance and made her get some rest.  She cried, told me I didn’t know what she was going through, and then she tried to justify why she didn’t need to get more sleep.

I can tell you with complete honesty that mama gets her way more than not, but today she scared me.  Since contractions began she’s slept no more than 3 hours in any given day.  Yesterday she racked up 1 ½ hours of sleep and continued to do her motherly duties throughout the day with little to no hiccup, but it was in her eyes and in her face, she needed the sleep.  I was scared for her, and rather than let her get her way and give in to her sobbing and firm grip on the situation I rationally explained to her that it wasn’t just in her best interest anymore, but baby’s too.  I feel for my wife, she is my rock, my family, my reason to do, and I think I know now that being forceful in a situation that is in the best interests mama and family is a part of being daddy; but I also know not to push it.

To keep things interesting I would like anyone who has something to add or a question to please come forward and do so.  I would like to dedicate my Sunday posts to quick quibs and responses to develop repartee between all of us.  Being daddy is something that I know I can’t do alone.  We all have interesting experiences and fun stories to share or questions that need answering, so if you feel up to it please send me questions or stories through my contact page and I will add or respond accordingly.

